Chicago Women’s Half Marathon Recap

Well..I did it!  I finished the Chicago Women’s Half Marathon!

IMG_1205

 

Good Morning, Sunshine!

The day began with a 4 a.m. wake-up call.  And it was Pride Week in Chicago so when we were getting up some lovely men were coming back to my friend’s apartment building.  She lives in Boystown and the streets were rolling with fabulous men!  And huge shout out for marriage equality!!!

We got ready, I ate a piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter and then later ate a Power Bar.  Then we got on the bus to head to Grant Park!

IMG_1203

 

Someone wasn’t exactly happy about getting on a bus at 4:50….but the sun never sets on a badass.

We arrived at Grant Park and I drank a couple bottles of Smart Water, went to the bathroom and stretched it out getting ready for the race!  It was already 70 degrees and the race was on high alert due to humidity and temperature.  I knew I was in a bad spot.  I do not do well with heat, as we all know.

The race was set to start at 6:30 and it started promptly.  The owner of Fleet Feet Chicago gave a wonderful speech on how important heart health is for women – it was the charity for the race – and that she was a healthy woman who suffered a heart attack in December.  And she was running the race with us!!  It was a very moving story and truly inspiring that you can bounce back from anything.

And we’re off!!

IMG_1207

 

IMG_1208

 

I started out great!  I kept up with the 2:20 pace team for the first 5 miles, which I was very pleased with!  At mile 2, I ran into the man and said to him, “Wedding Dress!  Wedding Dress! Wedding Dress!”  Is there a better reason to run then that?  I gotta look hot! 🙂

But then…it got hot!!  Really hot!  The race did a great job of having a water station every mile, some misting stations with fans and water and some Gu at mile 7.7.

I didn’t want to walk the entire time and I kept that going through until mile 8.  At that point, I just didn’t want to go to a medical tent!  Girls were dropping like flies, I saw 3 girls pass out.  As someone who has fainted 3 times from being overheated, it was more important to me that I finish and not faint then run the whole time but get sick.

So, after mile 8, I took my time – walking up hills and getting passed by women in their 60’s.  BUT I had time to snap these amazing pictures!

IMG_1214

 

IMG_1217

 

I went around the corner of mile 12, saw the sign for Grant Park, and picked up the pace!  I was able to sprint to the end.  That was very important to me: Start Strong, Finish Strong.

The man told me afterwards that when he looked at his phone and he saw 83 degrees, he knew I was in trouble.  He kept looking at his phone because someone was going to call him saying that I had passed out.  But then he saw me running around the corner and breathed a sigh of relief.

So, it wasn’t exactly the best run, but I got a medal!  I finished!  I learned that it is more important to listen to your body then to push yourself and regret it later.

IMG_1219

IMG_1220

 

I’m glad it’s over – and I’m glad I survived.  And was able to eat a huge burger and a McFlurry on the way home!

Here’s to running races in March only!!  Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

