What I’m Loving Wednesday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This edition of What I’m Loving Wednesday is focused around one article from The Atlantic. 

It’s an article titled, “How to Live in a World where Marriage is in Decline.

As a woman who is about to embark on the new world of marriage, I found this article extremely interesting.  The most interesting fact is that every state has seen a decline in marriage in women aged 25-49, except Utah in the 1990s.  Those Mormons sure are into marriage.  (joking, I actually know quite a few Mormons from high school.  Come to think of it, they’re all married with at least one child, but I digress).

The article says that in order to reduce the decline in marriage we need to do reduce the disadvantages of unmarried parents.  This to me seems like it would be the opposite.  If you wanted to increase marriage, wouldn’t you want to reduce the advantages to being unmarried?

There are quite a few graphs in the article that don’t make much sense to this left-brained girl.  I’m just intrigued by any articles that discuss marriage because I’m at the time in my life when I want to learn all I can to have a successful marriage.

All in all, it’s an interesting read whether you believe it or not.

What do you think it takes to be in a successful marriage?

Leave a Reply

