It’s a Sunny Day!

Okay, name that tv show?

Anyone…

…Anyone?

If you guessed Sesame Street, you are correct!

 

I loved this show as a kid!  Who doesn’t love a big yellow bird teaching you the alphabet?

Let’s recap yesterday, shall we?

BREAKFAST – I’m a huge fan of on-the-go breakfasts lately.  It’s so easy to grab a granola bar and a piece of fruit and run out the door.  Monday was no different.  I ate a banana and a Luna chocolate dipped coconut granola bar.

IMG_1124

 

Breakdown:
1 large banana, 121 calories, 31g carbs, 3.5g fiber, 1.5g protein
1 Luna chocolate dipped coconut granola bar, 190 calories, 25g carbs, 3g fiber, 9g protein

BREAKFAST TOTAL – 311 CALORIES, 56G CARBS, 6.5G FIBER, 10.5G PROTEIN 

This kept me full pretty much until lunch.

LUNCH – I went out to eat with some co-workers for lunch and it was so delicious.  We went to a restaurant in the area, Red Ox, where we split an appetizer and I had a salad.  So tasty!

As an appetizer, we ordered garlic bread and cream cheese dip.  It came highly recommended and was definitely worth it!  I had 2.5 bread sticks!

IMG_1125

And then I ordered a chopped chicken club salad with grilled chicken, bleu cheese, gorgonzola dressing, tomatoes, onions, bacon and cucumber.  I didn’t even put a dent in this huge salad!

IMG_1126

Here are my rough estimates for the calculations (it’s really hard to calculate a restaurant):
2.5 breadsticks with cream cheese (I used the calories at Pizza Hut because they tasted similar) – 350 calories, 47.5g carbs, 2.5g fiber, 12.5g protein
Chopped chicken club salad (I found a calculation that was based on Red Ox but it’s based on the whole salad and without dressing.  So, I divided these calories by 1.5 because that’s a little more than the portion but includes the dressing) – 407 calories, 12.8g carbs, 3.2g fiber, 44.7g protein (thanks bacon!)

LUNCH TOTAL – 757 CALORIES, 60.3G CARBS, 5.7G FIBER, 57.2G PROTEIN 

Wow – that’s a lot!!

I didn’t exercise yesterday – woohoo rest day.  Although, I probably should have thanks to all those calories in lunch!

SNACK – I ate half a treat that someone brought into the office.  I have no idea what’s it was called, but I’m guessing it had about 150 calories because of the portion size.

I came home and it was time for taco night!

DINNER – A taco salad!  I had ground chuck, 2 crispy tacos, romaine lettuce, tomato. Mexican cheese and avocado.  It was quite delicious.  I didn’t even notice the lack of sour cream!

IMG_1128

 

Breakdown –
2 crispy Oretga taco shells – 240 calories, 32g carbs, 4g fiber, 4g protein
Taco Meat – 90 calories, 7g protein
1/4 medium tomato – 22 calories, 4.82g carbs, 1.5g fiber, 1.08g protein
Romaine lettuce (1 cup) – 10 calories, 1.8g carbs, 1.2g fiber, .6g protein
Mexican cheese (1/2 cup) – 182.5 calories, .94g carbs, 11.5g protein
1/3 avocado – 107 calories, 5.6g carbs, 4.6g fiber, 1.3g protein

DINNER TOTAL – 651.5 CALORIES, 45.6G CARBS, 11.3G FIBER, 25.48G PROTEIN 

This didn’t fill me up all the way, so I had dessert.

DESSERT – Graham cracker with peanut butter and mini chocolate chips!  The man and I split this while we watched 30 Rock in bed!

IMG_1129

 

Breakdown:
1 graham cracker – 30 calories, 5.38g carbs, .2g fiber, .48g protein
1 tbsp peanut butter – 94 calories, 3g carbs, .95g fiber, 4g protein

DESSERT TOTAL – 124 CALORIES, 8.38G CARBS, 1.15G FIBER, 4.48G PROTEIN 

This exercise is definitely helping me.  I definitely thought there couldn’t possibly be that many calories in a salad, but that is NOT true!

GRAND TOTAL – 1,993.5 CALORIES, 170.28G CARBS, 24.65G FIBER, 96.66G PROTEIN 

It’s safe to say that I ate too much yesterday and the calories didn’t come from the best foods.  But, now that I know, I’ll do better!

Leave a Reply

