Weekend Recap

I would have assumed that a nice weekend at home would be pretty relaxing.  Boy was I wrong!

Even though we were home (ie in Michigan), we were pretty much go, go, go all weekend.  Let’s recap the weekend:

FRIDAY – 

IMG_0976

Breakfast was 2 pieces of toast, 1 banana and chia seeds, with a side of hazelnut coffee.  {I just love my Chicago mug!}

Snacks included some Cheez-It’s and an apple.

IMG_0977 IMG_0980

There’s nothing like a lunchtime work out!  I did a quick 3 mile run at a 10:30 pace.  It was nice to actually do something active during the day.  It kept my spirit up for the rest of the afternoon.

IMG_0979

And dinner was enjoyed on the balcony with a bottle of Chianti.  Oh so good!!  Dinner included: shrimp sauteed in olive oil, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and orzo with basil, cherry tomatoes and parmesan cheese.  I also enjoyed a side salad of arugula/spinach blend and ranch dressing.  For dessert, a super old chocolate covered Oreo.  It was a great dinner with great conversation!

IMG_0983 IMG_0984 IMG_0985

SATURDAY – The weekend began bright and early as we had to complete the natural family planning portion of our marriage prep.  It was pretty awful and I’ll write a whole recap on marriage prep in the Catholic church for those who are interested.

We ran to get some coffee before our day.  I ordered a cappuccino, which was perfect!!

IMG_0986

After our meeting, we definitely needed some alcohol.  So, off to Buddy’s Pizza we went and enjoyed some Stella, a side salad and pizza with pepperoni and green peppers.  It was perfect!

IMG_0988 IMG_0989 IMG_0990

After lunch, we ran some errands and even finalized our tux rentals for the wedding!!  It was unexpected but really necessary.  It feels so good to have that checked off the list!

We came home and I snacked on some cantaloupe.  Then, we watched This is 40 on demand, which was actually a good movie.  I drank a glass of Chianti and ate popcorn for dinner!  It was the perfect Saturday night spent snuggling on the couch and drinking vino.

IMG_0992 IMG_0993 IMG_0995

SUNDAY – On the agenda, a run!  It was incredibly hot, like 80 degrees hot.  I wasn’t really looking forward to running in that hot heat, but I ran with 2 co-workers, which made it fun.  We completed 6 miles {we started wanting to do 9, but it was just too hot} and I’m not even going to tell you the time.  It wasn’t good.  TOO HOT!

I ate 2 pieces of toast with peanut butter and the remaining Cheez-It’s before the run, drank an entire Gatorade on the run and then starved for a few hours.

After my run, we ran to Macy’s to start our registry.  It was so much fun!  And we actually agreed on everything.  It was a nice surprise.  I’ll also be recapping our registry experiences.

Then, we went to Chipotle – I had 3 chicken tacos with chicken, lettuce, guac and cheese.  Of course, chips and guac were consumed.

IMG_1005

 

I’m pretty exhausted just writing this post.   All in all, I’m pretty pleased with the way this weekend turned out – from all angles: food, exercise and quality time spent with the man!

HOW WAS YOUR WEEKEND?

Leave a Reply

