Giada is the Best

Hello All! Happy (rainy) Tuesday. It’s pouring rain and I got stuck in it on my way back from lunch. A great day to wear a white sweater, huh?

Yesterday was a rest day and I’ve noticed that I definitely use these days to my advantage. I came from work last night, watched Married to Jonas , completed a pilates DVD and read my US Weekly. It was glorious!

Now, let’s dig into what I ate yesterday.

BREAKFAST – Breakfast yesterday came together quickly thanks to some prep the night before.  I had some overnight oats, made with old fashioned rolled oats, 1% organic milk, chia seeds, peanut butter and cinnamon.  Oh so good!

20130430-123206.jpg

I should have added a little mor milk to the mix because it was a little crunchy, but I was able to devour the whole thing.  I also had a banana on the side.

I plugged away at work for the remainder of the morning, and then went to a local grocery store, Busch’s, with a co-worker.  I love this grocery store because they offer free coffee and doughnut holes to customers.  Even though I didn’t buy anything, I took part in the doughnut holes!  (Well, only 1)!

20130430-123216.jpg

When I came back to the office, I was more than ready for my sandwich!

LUNCH – I had a salami sandwich on wheat bread and 1 tsp of light mayo.  Now, I realize this isn’t the healthiest of lunches, but the man likes salami and I don’t want it to go to waste.

20130430-123221.jpg

The sandwich didn’t keep me full for very long and I was pretty much starving by the time I got home.  I snacked on some kettle chips while I cleaned out the DVR.  These held me over until it was time to make dinner!

20130430-123225.jpg

DINNER – I have to give a huge shout out to Giada for her unbelieveable Weeknights with Giada cookbook.  Not only are the photos goregous in this cookbook, every single recipe seems delicious and doesn’t take a lot of time, making for great meals on weeknights (hence the name).

I found a recipe for carmelized onion, sausage and basil pizza and used that last night!

20130430-123230.jpg

The pizza didn’t take too long, thanks to the store-bought pizza dough.  Cooking the onions took the longest time – 25 minutes total – but while those were cooking, I made the sausage on the stove.  The recipe calls for gorgonzola or blue cheese, but the man doesn’ t like those, so I substituted mozzarella.  It was oh so delicious.

20130430-123240.jpg

I had 2 pieces of pizza and a side salad with spinach, cherry tomatoes and ranch dressing.  It was so good.  And there’s nothing like some candlelight to add some romance to a Monday!

20130430-124937.jpg

Yummy pizza we’ll definitely be making again!!

Leave a Reply

