70’s on 7

Happy Sunday!!  It’s my all-time favorite day.  You can sleep in, still have alcohol mimosas at brunch and laying on the couch all day is completely acceptable.

This weekend was a great one.  It was extremely relaxing – Friday night, I stayed home alone watching T.V. and going to sleep early.  It was glorious.  Saturday, I woke up, hung out with the man and then met a friend to run 7 miles!  (More on that later).  Then we went to grab margaritas!  Absolutely wonderful.

FRIDAY – The beginning of the weekend was great.  Work was pretty good, I ate some good eats and cleaned out the DVR.  Breakfast was an apple.  Lunch was a chopped salad with ranch dressing.  It was amazing.  The next picture is of my open sunroof.  The first open sunroof of 2013!!  Oh, then I had a few Oreo’s.  For dinner, I had whole wheat rigatoni with butter and shredded mozzarella cheese.  I spent my Friday night watching some of my favorite Bravo shows over a glass of white wine.  For dessert, I had the last piece of cake in bed.  What is it about eating food in bed that is so delicious?

IMG_0845 IMG_0846 IMG_0847 IMG_0848 IMG_0849 IMG_0851 IMG_0852

 

SATURDAY – What a great day Saturday was!  Not only was it gorgeous weather, delicious margaritas were devoured.  For breakfast, I had 2 pieces of whole wheat toast with peanut butter, an apple and hazelnut coffee.  Then I had some Sun Chips!  For a pre-run snack, I had a mozzarella cheese stick.  Dinner after the run was chips and guacamole, Georgia Peach margaritas and I split my entree with a friend.  It was a quesadilla with chicken, bacon, cheese and avocado, which was then covered with sour cream.  It was delicious and I’m so glad we split it!!

IMG_0853 IMG_0854 IMG_0855 IMG_0859 IMG_0860

 

THE RUN – I was supposed to run 7 miles on Saturday, which is what we did.  I swung by a running store to pick up some Gu and a nice running fanny pack!  I had a chocolate Gu on the run, which was amazing.  I also grabbed a Gatorade because I don’t think I drank enough water before hand.

IMG_0856

I like my fanny pack.  It’s pink!

IMG_0858

I learned a lot of things on my run yesterday.

  • It was 70 degrees – that is too hot for my body.  I’ve fainted 3 times in my life, 2 of which were because I got overheated during exercise.  I really need to watch how I feel while I exercise.  I could feel myself getting hot if there wasn’t a breeze, so I ran pretty slowly.
  • I need to practice hills!   There were some step hills on the run and I walked up those hills because I was exhausted and hot.  That was the only walking I did, but I need to build up my endurance for the race!
  • I can’t carry anything while running.  I put my Gu and car keys in my new fanny pack, but I held the Gatorade in my hand. It was surprisingly heavy.  So, note to self: I really need to drink about 3 times more water during the day when I have to run that far.
  • I can finish anything if I put my mind to it.  Even though I was insanely tired and hot, I finished the run!  It took me a total of 1:21:30, which is about 11:39 average pace.  This pace isn’t horrible since I walked up the hills.  I would say my average running pace was 10:24, which is a little slower than my goal for race day.

I’m proud of myself for running that far and not giving up and turning around.  That’s all that matters.  I’m a little sore today, mostly in my knees and shoulders – I’m sure that means I was running with my shoulders up .  Now it’s time to relax before heading to the grocery store.

How were your runs this weekend? 

2 thoughts on “70’s on 7

  1. Pingback: Lazy Sunday | Run4Vino

  2. Pingback: Chicago Women’s Half Marathon Recap | Run4Vino

Leave a Reply

