Emotional Eating

TGIF!  For real.  Are you all as excited for the weekend as I am?

Yesterday wasn’t exactly my best day eating wise.  The weather was horrible, work was horrible, so I decided to eat horribly!  Now, I realize that this isn’t the best solution when I’m feeling down.  I know that I should go to the gym and get those endorphins flowing, but the combination of the weather and the fact that I had a horrible headache, I decided to stay home.

I didn’t take pictures of everything I ate yesterday, but I’ll list everything.

BREAKFAST – 2 whole wheat Eggo waffles with peanut butter and Panera hazelnut coffee.

IMG_0750

This was surprisingly filling.  I wasn’t too hungry for lunch but when my stomach started to make some noises, I knew I wanted one thing: CARBS!!

LUNCH – I really wanted the leftover pizza, so I allowed myself.  These pieces weren’t too big, but definitely tasted amazing!

IMG_0751

I started feeling really sick around 2 PM from my headache.  You know when your head hurts so bad your stomach starts to hurt, too?  Well, that’s what happened to me.  I tried to make everything better by eating a clementine but that didn’t work.  Nothing worked.  I even shut my computer for 15 minutes to close my eyes, that didn’t work.  I just wanted to sit in complete darkness.

I was finally able to do that after the clock literally turned to 5!  But that’s when the emotional eating started.  Since I wasn’t feeling that great, I wanted to make myself feel better by eating:

  • Double Stuffed Oreo’s 
  • Gelato from Whole Foods
  • Cheez-It’s
  • Jelly Beans

And that was my dinner, folks.

Now, I know when I’m feeling sad, low or in pain, I shouldn’t reach for the sweets.  I should reach for my gym shoes instead.

Today was better and I’ll be sure to post what I ate today later.  And now I’m getting ready to meet up with some friends from work to go out to dinner and then drink some beer!

I’ll leave you with this YouTube video that describes how I feel:

Leave a Reply

