The Windy City, Where Calories Don’t Count

As you can probably tell, I have been M.I.A. for a few days and it’s not because I haven’t been thinking about the blog, it’s because I visited my BFF in Chicago this past weekend!  The 2 of us really wanted to do a girl’s weekend and this past weekend worked out the best for both our schedules.  The men stayed home and watched the NCAA tournament.  #boyswillbeboys

I took the train from Ann Arbor to Union Station.  Even though it was an hour late, it was still a nice ride.  I finished reading my book for pleasure.  No, not the Brandi Glandville book (I wish).  I read There’s Cake in My Future by Kim Gruenefelder.  I borrowed it from my friend and wanted to finish it so I could give it back to her.  It was nice read, nothing too difficult, no twists or turns.  It was really nice to start and finish a book in one day.  I miss doing that.

When I arrived in the Windy City (which is my favorite city of all-time!), it was time to be ladies who lunch!  And where d you go to feel like kept women?  Why Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba for tapas, of course.

We dined on delicious bread, sweet potato wedges, shrimp and some Spanish doughnuts.  We also split half a pitcher of red wine sangria.  It was absolutely glorious.  The shrimp had to be my favorite because they were made with lemon drizzles!  The churros (Spanish doughnuts) were amazing!  They came with chocolate and vanilla with cinnamon dipping sauces.  Both were delicious!

PicMonkey Collage

We walked around, shopped, stopped at Starbucks before coming back to take a shower and prep for dinner wit some other girlfriends.  We went to Duke of Perth for a fish fry!  We had to wait a really long time, but it was actually pretty good!  It was great to see friends, chat and then walk to get ice cream at Bobtail!  I love Bobtail!  I ordered a Thin Mint cup.  Also, my friend Kellye was obsessed with updating her NCAA bracket.  She went to Indiana and is quite into basketball.  Her fiance was out in Colorado for his bachelor’s party and getting his updates were hilarious.  I can’t wait for their wedding in May!

PicMonkey Collage2

Saturday morning, we woke up, ate breakfast and then went to StudioFit Chicago for a Barre class.  I was really nervous about it and it was super hard!  The instructor was great – she was encouraging, yet pushed you to your limits!  I’m not sure if I would go back to a barre class because I am really tight in my hamstrings and couldn’t get my leg up there easily, but if I were limber, definitely.  I was a sweaty mess afterwards.  The studio was gorgeous inside with lockers and a room with mirrors and the bar.

IMG_0591

really bad cell phone photo

After sweating out our toxins (and calories) from the night before, we did what any normal girl would do: eat doughnuts!!

IMG_0592

Coconut Doughnut

IMG_0594

Glazed and Infused – amazing!

We quickly showered and then headed out to walk around downtown Chicago!  It was glorious.  It was windy and a little chilly, but it was so nice to share conversations and great buildings.  We swung by Sprinkles Cupcakes, picked up some macaroons and some nice 2-buck chuck wine for Trader Joe’s!  It’s cheap but really good!

We had reservations for a pasta making class, so we took the bus over!  It was so much fun!  Here’s some photos to capture it!  I’m going to write a separate post on our pasta class because it definitely deserves it’s own accolades!

PicMonkey Collage3

We slept like babies Saturday night after our pasta and chocolate (and our Hills marathon) but then woke up on Sunday feeling pretty obese…and sore from the barre class.  We popped over to get some coffee and do a little more walking before it was time for me to hop on the train.

Just a huge shout out to a great weekend!  Girls’ Weekends are always super fun, filled with way too many calories that don’t count, go way too fast and are too few and far between! I had a great time in Chicago and spent the majority of the train ride back putting together a speech to convince the man to move back.  We’ll see how that goes!

How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “The Windy City, Where Calories Don’t Count

  1. Pingback: It’s the Weekend! | Run4Vino

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Run4Vino

Leave a Reply

