A NEW POPE

Habemus Papam!

That’s Latin for We Have a New Pope!

I can’t believe I’ve been alive for 24 short years, but have already seen 2 new Popes!  That is crazy to me.  When I was a junior in college, I studied abroad for 6 weeks in Rome.  It was the absolute best time ever – drinking wine, eating pasta, seeing Italy, speaking (very little!) Italian and making lifelong memories.  When I was there, I saw Pope Benedict.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

yes, this is a personal photo!

Every Wednesday (I think) when the Pope is in town, he does a public blessing.  My friends and I really wanted to a) have a seat and b) see the Pope!  The public address doesn’t start until 10 or 11, but we skipped class and got there at 8!  I wish I had known then, but the Pope takes a moment to bless you (well, the crowd) and if you hold up a cross or rosary, he blesses those, as well.  I wish I had known that because I would have brought the rosary I have from my First Communion.  But, hey, at least I was blessed by the Pope.  He also blesses all your family and friends back home, so consider yourselves blessed!

This new Pope is from Argentina and a Jesuit.  As a Marquette University graduate, I will always love a Jesuit.  Congrats to Pope Francis!

Now, onto yesterday’s eats and exercise…or lack thereof.  BUT I have a good reason!!

BREAKFAST – Overnight oats! Overnight oats haven’t shown up on the blog yet, but I really do love them.  I see them on blogs I read daily (Peanut Butter Fingers, Kath Eats Real Food and Carrots ‘n’ Cake).  Monday night I put about 3/4 cup of rolled oats, 2 tbsp of chia seeds (love these!) and a little bit of 1% organic milk into a bowl and then Tuesday morning, I added a tbsp of peanut butter and a pinch of cinnamon.  The cinnamon is the greatest addition that I didn’t start doing until recently!

IMG_0493

Of course, hazelnut coffee

I chugged along through the morning and ate a banana before lunch.

LUNCH – A classic, peanut butter and strawberry jelly on whole wheat bread.  An oldie but a goodie – SATC movie quote anyone?

IMG_0495

I really need to come up with more fun ways to take a pic

I had a 2.5 hour company-wide meeting at 2 pm, so that meant…

IMG_0496

STARBUCKS

I tried the new hazelnut macchiato with skim milk and I must say, it did not disappoint.  There was just enough hazelnut and steamed milk and I could drink 17 of them and then I’d really get some work done!

SNACK – another Kashi bar!

IMG_0497

at least it’s trail mix

I had a rather negative experience at work – you’d think people’s parents taught them to say please and thank you – so I was annoyed the whole drive home.  I knew a work out would help, but I opted for the below.

IMG_0498

White Wine and US Weekly

Hey, at least Snooki’s on the cover and telling me how she lost 42 pounds.  You want to know how…eating less, drinking alcohol less and working out.  Ground breaking, Snooki.  I have to say that I was not a Jersey Shore fan (but I will always love the Real Housewives of New Jersey) but I do like Snooki’s show with Jenni.  They are pretty fun.

DINNER – Chinese takeout!  I devoured some wonton soup and crab rangoons but that’s it.  I really wanted sweet and sour chicken.  That’s a positive!  I was satisfied, but hungry before going to bed.  I didn’t eat anything, and just went to bed.  Score!

IMG_0499

Hello large wonton

We haven’t found the best Chinese food here in Michigan.  I think we were jaded from greasy, drunk Chinese food in college, but this one was pretty decent. It’s just down the street and worth a second visit.  And, last night I won our game show night!!  I rocked Wheel of Fortune!  Pat has nothing on me!!

 

 

One thought on “A NEW POPE

  1. Pingback: Working from Home | Run4Vino

Leave a Reply

